§ Claim under review · Business
"Owner, an AI platform for local businesses, raised $240 million at a $2.3 billion valuation in a financing led by Goldman Sachs Alternatives' Growth Equity, with participation from Meritech, Redpoint, Headline and Jack Altman, after surpassing $100 million in ARR"
Verdict
Accurate
Confidence
HighSummary
This one checks out. Owner, a company that sells AI-driven websites, ordering, point-of-sale and marketing tools mainly to independent restaurants, announced on August 28, 2026 that it raised $240 million at a $2.3 billion valuation, led by Growth Equity at Goldman Sachs Alternatives, with existing backers Meritech, Redpoint, Headline and Jack Altman taking part. The social post repeats those numbers word for word from the company's own press release, and named trade outlets reported the same round the same day, describing it as a Series D. One thing worth knowing: the "$100 million in ARR" figure is Owner's own unaudited statement about itself, not a verified or independently checked number, and annual recurring revenue is a run-rate estimate rather than booked revenue. The company's announcement also does not say whether the $2.3 billion valuation is before or after the new money, and no securities filing confirming the round was located, which is normal this soon after an announcement. Nothing found contradicts any part of the claim.
The readings
key figures from the evidenceamount raised in Series D round, per company announcement
valuation after round, pre/post-money unspecified
Why this verdict
Evidence
Owner's own press release states that the company announced it raised $240 million and reached a $2.3 billion valuation, that Growth Equity at Goldman Sachs Alternatives led the financing, and that existing investors Meritech, Redpoint, Headline, and Jack Altman also participated . The same release states that Owner launched in 2020 and has surpassed $100 million in ARR .
Independent trade coverage the same day reports the round as a Series D: Owner raised $240 million in a Series D round led by Goldman Sachs Alternatives, and plans to use the funding to grow its "AI-native" platform, which includes AI agents that manage restaurants' websites, marketing and other functions . Restaurant Business further reports that the San Francisco-based company now generates $100 million in annual recurring revenue across "thousands" of local businesses per its press release, and that the round brings its valuation to $2.3 billion . SiliconANGLE independently notes Goldman led the round joined by Meritech, Redpoint, Headline and Benchmark partner Jack Altman, and that Owner's annualized recurring revenue topped $100 million ahead of the round .
Round history from secondary coverage: Owner raised a $3.46 million seed in 2020, a $33 million Series B in January 2024 led by Redpoint, then $120 million in a Series C co-led by Meritech and Headline in May 2025 at a $1 billion valuation . An aggregator characterizes the new valuation as post-money: Owner.com raised $240 million in a Series D in August 2026 at a $2.3 billion post-money valuation, led by Growth Equity at Goldman Sachs Alternatives, with participation from Meritech, Redpoint, Headline, and Jack Altman .
Findings
✓ What's accurate 7
- The $240 million figure matches the company's own announcement exactly.
- The $2.3 billion valuation matches the announcement exactly.
- Growth Equity at Goldman Sachs Alternatives as lead investor is stated verbatim in the release.
- Meritech, Redpoint, Headline and Jack Altman as participating existing investors is stated verbatim.
- "Surpassed $100 million in ARR" is the company's exact phrasing, not a paraphrase.
- Founding year 2020, CEO/co-founder Adam Guild, co-founder Dean Bloembergen, San Francisco dateline, and "thousands" of local businesses all match the release and same-day trade reporting.
- The "starting with restaurants" qualifier in the post's caption matches the company's own framing.
≈ What's misleading 2
- **Marketing as evidence:** the $100M ARR figure and the "thousands of local businesses" count are unaudited company self-reports carried straight from the press release into a sponsored social graphic. They are what Owner says about itself, not verified financials. The post presents them without that attribution. This does not make the claim wrong, but a reader has no way to see that the revenue figure has no independent verification behind it.
- Nothing else in the caption departs materially from the source document. This is essentially a verbatim restatement of an issuer announcement.
? What's uncertain 6
- Whether the valuation is pre- or post-money: the release says only "reached a $2.3 billion valuation." An aggregator calls it post-money; the primary document does not specify.
- No SEC Form D was retrieved, so the amount has no regulatory corroboration independent of the company's word. This is normal for a freshly announced private round and is not contrary evidence.
- ARR is an annualized run-rate metric, not audited revenue. The measurement date, definition and whether it is net or gross of churn are not disclosed.
- Headquarters is given as San Francisco in the release dateline and by Restaurant Business, while one lower-tier aggregator says Palo Alto. Minor and unresolved.
- Founding date: the company says 2020, while one aggregator states Guild began the business in 2018 as ProfitBoss before the 2021 Owner.com rebrand. Not material to the funding claim.
- No independent statement from Goldman Sachs Alternatives on its own channel was located, so lead-investor status rests on Owner's announcement plus trade reporting.
Sources
4 of 7 linked to recordsOwner's own funding announcement, PR Newswire, dated San Francisco, Aug. 28, 2026
Identical wire text mirrored at Morningstar and TradingView (syndication of source 1, not independent)
Restaurant Business Online, Joe Guszkowski, Aug. 28 2026
SiliconANGLE, Aug. 28 2026
Sacra company profile (post-money characterization, round history)
Restaurant Technology News; WOWTALE; TheSaaSNews; TheInvestorSociety
SEC EDGAR Form D for Owner.com